php or ?????

PHP coding talk.

Moderator: Moderators

php or ?????

Postby lankho on Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:21 pm

I'm view this source code at http://gettingzone.com. They use php or what? (ISS ??? )

Code: Select all
<tr>
                    <td width="3" height="20"></td>
                   
                    <td width="3" height="20"></td>
                    <td width="90" id="ghome" height="20" class="headtabon" >                   
                    <a onclick="log.ilayer('index.php?ISS=mainpage','listmain','mainpage','e0010','fire','forced','main')">Home</a></td>
                    <td width="99" id="upic" height="20" class="headtaboff">                   
                    <a onclick=log.ilayer('index.php?ISS=uploadimage','listmain','uploadimage','e0010','fire','forced','uli')>Upload picture</a></a>
                    </td>
                    <td width="87" id="topp" height="20" class="headtaboff">
                    <div id="dtopposters"><a onclick=log.ilayer('index.php?ISS=topposters','listmain','topposters','e0010','fire',null,'topposters')>Top posters</a></div></td>
                    <td id="acat" class="headtaboff" height="20" width="97">
                    <div id="dallcat"><a onclick=log.ilayer('index.php?ISS=allcat','listmain','allcat','e0010','fire',null,'allcat')>All categories</a></div></td>
                    <td id="mfav" width="85" class="headtaboff" height="20">
               <div id="dmostfavorite"><a onclick=log.ilayer('index.php?ISS=view&method=mostfavorite','listmain','mostfavorite','e0010','fire','forced','mostfavorite')>Top favorites</a></div></td>
                    <td id="lpup" width="141" class="headtaboff" height="20">
                    <div id="dlastupload"><a onclick=log.ilayer('index.php?ISS=view&method=lastupload','listmain','lastupload','e0010','fire','forced','lastupload')>Last photos uploaded</a></div></td>
                    <td id="mview" width="89" class="headtaboff" height="20">
                    <div id="dmostview"><a onclick=log.ilayer('index.php?ISS=view&method=mostview','listmain','mostview','e0010','fire','forced','mostview')>Most viewed</a></div>
                    </td>
                    <td id="trat" width="83" class="headtaboff" height="20">                   
                    <div id="dtoprating"><a onclick=log.ilayer('index.php?ISS=view&method=toprating','listmain','toprating','e0010','fire','forced','toprating')>Top rating</a></div></td>
                    <td width="4" valign="bottom" height="20"></td>
                  </tr>
                  <tr>
                    <td width="3" height="1" class="underheadtaboff"></td>                   
                    <td width="3" height="1" class="underheadtaboff"></td>
                    <td width="90" id="underghome" height="1"></td>
                    <td width="99" id="underupic" height="1" class="underheadtaboff" ></td>
                    <td width="87" id="undertopp" height="1" class="underheadtaboff" ></td>
                    <td width="97" id="underacat" height="1" class="underheadtaboff"></td>
                    <td width="85" id="undermfav" height="1" class="underheadtaboff"></td>
                    <td width="141" id="underlpup" height="1" class="underheadtaboff"></td>
                    <td width="89" id="undermview" height="1" class="underheadtaboff"></td>
                    <td width="83" id="undertrat" height="1" class="underheadtaboff"></td>
                    <td width="4" height="1" class="underheadtaboff"></td>
                  </tr>
lankho
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:03 pm

Postby iyeru42 on Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:58 pm

Click your URL you provided, it leads to:

http://gettingzone.com/LeVyO.php

So, yes, they do use php. In terms of your confusion of ISS, the ISS thing is actually PHP, as shown below:

Code: Select all
if(isset($_GET['ISS'])) {
     $iss = $_GET['ISS']
     $this->iss_func($iss);
}


Where $_GET['ISS'] references to what is after the = sign but before the & in the URL/Address.
User avatar
iyeru42
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Wisconsin, Madison

Postby DoubleJ on Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:12 pm

.php does not nessecarily mean it contains php.

The code you posted above, is plain html
It never hurts to help.....
[ My phpBB Mods and Styles ]
My Mod: [ Simple Shoutbox Mod ]
[ DoubleJWeb ] [ Get Opera ]
User avatar
DoubleJ
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 716
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:58 pm
Location: DoubleJWeb.Net

Postby eviL3 on Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:21 pm

[quote user="DoubleJ" post="86804"].php does not nessecarily mean it contains php.

The code you posted above, is plain html[/quote]

That's true, but it's very likeley :)
User avatar
eviL3
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:59 pm

Postby DooBDee on Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:30 pm

Thats PHP programming, but php is executed on server and only output of PHP script is sent to client, so code you see is result of PHP script.
DooBDee
Website Ninja
DooBDee.net
User avatar
DooBDee
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3530
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: DooBDee.net

Postby iyeru42 on Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:54 pm

[quote user="DooBDee" post="86816"]Thats PHP programming, but php is executed on server and only output of PHP script is sent to client, so code you see is result of PHP script.[/quote]

When PHP executes, it outputs the HTML result (Because of the Compiler built into the server you use.) And yes, that's correct, but the ?bla=BLAH is a $_GET['bla'] thing, which is a PHP Environment Variable. Unless they used a JavaScript version (Which is very hard to use, since you need to init. the environment.)
User avatar
iyeru42
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Wisconsin, Madison

Postby DooBDee on Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:13 pm

As previously mentioned, it is PHP programming, but its pointless analysing this source code becuase its not usefull and does not give any clue how the website is built or works apart from URL parameters and other simlar public code created by server side code.
DooBDee
Website Ninja
DooBDee.net
User avatar
DooBDee
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3530
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: DooBDee.net

Postby iyeru42 on Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:47 pm

[quote user="DooBDee" post="86848"]As previously mentioned, it is PHP programming, but its pointless analysing this source code becuase its not usefull and does not give any clue how the website is built or works apart from URL parameters and other simlar public code created by server side code.[/quote]

That's because when you try and download a PHP file by right-clicking, you'll get the HTML version.
The alignment of darkness depends on the weilder.
[ Anti-Spam Thread | phpBB | PortaApps ]
User avatar
iyeru42
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Wisconsin, Madison

Postby DoubleJ on Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:50 pm

[quote user="iyeru42" post="86845"][quote user="DooBDee" post="86816"]Thats PHP programming, but php is executed on server and only output of PHP script is sent to client, so code you see is result of PHP script.[/quote]

When PHP executes, it outputs the HTML result (Because of the Compiler built into the server you use.) And yes, that's correct, but the ?bla=BLAH is a $_GET['bla'] thing, which is a PHP Environment Variable. Unless they used a JavaScript version (Which is very hard to use, since you need to init. the environment.)[/quote]
First of all, ?bla=bla does not nessecerally indicate that the page is php.
www.domain.com/?contentid=bla
can also mean that it is cgi or asp or something similar, as it uses same url setup.
Second of all, php does not generate html only. It is capable to also produces images of various formats(like captcha) and even .pdf files and archives like .zip archives.
php is a programming language like anyother, but specifically designed for producing content for the web or website, and this does not nessecarily mean that it will output html, as a .gif is not html.

Then the other thing which has been stated quite clearly by DoobDee and restated by you, is the fact that you are not capable of seeing the actual source code, which produces the content.
Reason for this is that the server is running an application called a parser, a php parser to be exact.
When you(r browser) request(s) a page with a .php extension, the host/server will look for your page. Then it notices the .php extension. On the server it is defined that .php files should be parsed before they are send back to the client.

This means that the php-code is executed on the server-side and then the output of the code is sent to you.
In another post, I mentioned the header() function which can be used, to tell the browser what to do with this content.
It can tell the browser what kind of filetype is send, how to handle it(download it or display it in the browser).

On to the javascript part.
Javascript is a clientside scripting language, this means that it is not executed by the host, but by your browser, the client. That makes your browser the 'javascript environment'.

then to get back to lankho.
If you have ftp access, you can retrieve the files of your site from the host. Then you download the files containing the code. You can then examine these files if you like.. and edit it or something...

Conclusion, the code you posted, is plain html. This html is the output generated by the host off of your phpscript. Due to this you will not see the actuall phpcode. And thanks to this, things like forums or shoutboxes etc. are possible :-)
It never hurts to help.....
[ My phpBB Mods and Styles ]
My Mod: [ Simple Shoutbox Mod ]
[ DoubleJWeb ] [ Get Opera ]
User avatar
DoubleJ
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 716
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:58 pm
Location: DoubleJWeb.Net


Return to PHP Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron