I am not sure if this is the right spot

Conventional discussion only. No politics, religion and other topics that might cause conflicts.
Strictly appropriate discussions only, meaning spammers and trolls will be banned on first offense.

Moderator: Moderators

I am not sure if this is the right spot

Postby halomaster2437 on Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:25 am

Could I have the html coding for the subSilver design? I was wondering about making a home page and stuff.. but could I?
And I am asking them about it now, so don't post that..
User avatar
halomaster2437
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:20 am
Location: I forgot?

Postby DooBDee on Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:55 am

You can use subSilver, but keep copyrights in place for phpBB. Just get phpBB and look in templates/subSilver/*.* and all code is there.
DooBDee
Website Ninja
DooBDee.net
User avatar
DooBDee
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3530
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: DooBDee.net

Postby halomaster2437 on Sun Apr 08, 2007 11:01 pm

Lol, I don't know anything about php and stuff... only a little html.. so could you like give the code or something :)

Hope you do! Thanks..
User avatar
halomaster2437
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:20 am
Location: I forgot?

Postby UseLess on Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:08 am

Greetings,

You have phpBB installed I assume?

In which case look in: templates/subSilver/ and in there you'll find a load of 'tpl' files, these 'tpl' files are just html files with a different extension, the ext 'html' is used in phpBB 3. Therefore, as previously pointed out by DoobDee, you already have what you want.

And a little tip.

Do not used a program to edit the files that will auto complete incomplete html. By this I mean that the index page for example is made up from 3 files;

- overall_header.tpl
- index_body.tpl
- overall_footer.tpl

once the 3 templates are parsed and sent to the browser the result of the 3 files will be valid html. However the individual files are not complete due to the overall header starting the html document, the index body provides the page content and finally the overall footer closes any open tables and closes the body tag and html tag.

So avoid using a program that will automatically add any missing tags as it will screw up the files and result in invalid html.
Movie Quote:
It's not the years honey, it's the mileage...

I do not provide any install services for phpBB, Mods or Styles.
Please do not pm me for support/scripting help - you won't get any reply. If you have a question then make a post in the appropriate forum.
User avatar
UseLess
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6220
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:14 am
Location: North East, UK

Postby halomaster2437 on Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:11 am

Ok? so what you mean is I use the code thats in the .tpl files?

Also: Is Dreamweaver ok?
User avatar
halomaster2437
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:20 am
Location: I forgot?

Postby DoubleJ on Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:10 am

[quote user="halomaster2437" post="88854"]Ok? so what you mean is I use the code thats in the .tpl files?

Also: Is Dreamweaver ok?[/quote]
You can use dreamweaver, as long as you disable all settings which autocomplete your html.

personally I would use something like notepad, or crimsoneditor, the latter is a freeware program, which features syntax highlighting and such.
These are plain text editors, so they wont insert additional html for you which you do not want to have.
It never hurts to help.....
[ My phpBB Mods and Styles ]
My Mod: [ Simple Shoutbox Mod ]
[ DoubleJWeb ] [ Get Opera ]
User avatar
DoubleJ
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 716
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:58 pm
Location: DoubleJWeb.Net

Postby DooBDee on Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:13 am

Ive recently started to use AceHTML, it is commercial product, but has quite ncie features such as PHP syntax checking, so you can check document for any silly typos before testing, which saves time :)
DooBDee
Website Ninja
DooBDee.net
User avatar
DooBDee
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3530
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: DooBDee.net

Postby halomaster2437 on Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:57 pm

Sorry, but like I said.. no talent.. its all messed up now.. I used a text document.. It still messed up, can you give me the code or something..
User avatar
halomaster2437
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:20 am
Location: I forgot?

Re: I am not sure if this is the right spot

Postby floridamary4 on Fri Apr 10, 2009 1:43 pm

thanks for the info... :)
floridamary4
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:22 pm


Return to Regular Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron